Mum’s decline over the past few weeks has been rapid. From not being able to get out of bed unaided, to needing two people to move her, to not being able to lift the water bottle with the straw  to her mouth, to taking fluids from a syringe that she operated, to needing someone else to do that for her. When she was awake, I was in her room, and when she wasn’t, I was flitting about, making ice lollies and cleaning and tidying, just to keep busy. “Can I get you anything Mum?” I said. “A new body and a new life” she replied calmly.

I mourned every stage, every deterioration, every ability lost. Sometimes Mum noticed, and said things like: “Why am I so much weaker today than yesterday?” or “I don’t think I’m ever going to get out of this bed”. Eventually she was so morphined up that everything was “lovely”. The last word she said to me was “marvellous”.

In some ways, I wanted her to be released from her pain. I know that it’s better/kinder this way; now she won’t suffer anymore. But then I feel guilty as she never expressed any thoughts in that direction. She savoured her life until the very last breath.

Mum fell asleep on Tuesday, and passed away on Friday (yesterday). After a long few weeks of trying to support her as best I could, I thought her death wouldn’t affect me so much; I thought I would be prepared. But I still feel shocked. I just can’t believe she is no longer here.

