After college, I worked for 3 years as an English teacher in Spain, with limited success. I love working with kids, but exams, paperwork, parents, school politics… I realised it isn’t for me long term. So what’s next?

Whenever anyone asks me that, I say simply “I want to be part of the solution, and not a part of the problem”.  But what does that actually mean? I’m not interested in makes of clothes and electronics, or other status symbols. Here’s a random list of words that would make for a satisfying job for me:

education, the environment, theatre, production, storytelling, edutainment, food journalism, writing, university teaching

I think I’m slowly coming to terms with the fact that I will probably never make a large amount of money. I don’t see the point in spending 60% of my time doing something I don’t like and I don’t believe in, that isn’t benefiting the world in some way. This issue has come to the forefront of my mind after meeting many people who are dreading going back to work after their few weeks of fun in the sun.

A good friend of mine once advised me: “Do what you love, and the money will come”. Fingers crossed that if I keep doing what I love, some form of paid work that is satisfying will come along, and that I will always have enough money for the essentials.

