create for the joy of creating!

MasterDabblers

by Stephanie Lindquist

If you’re reading this after graduating you are probably familiar with this sad phenomenon, and I’m not talking about how much or little money artists make after school. I’m talking about how many of our peers stop making artwork altogether. Those with a MFA can relate to this. And those with BA or BFA can definitely relate to this. How many of your art friends still make art 1, 2, 5, 10 years out of school?

I got caught in this too. After graduating I stopped making work. It wasn’t until a year and a half later that I finally woke up, and realized what I was missing and why I stopped in the first place. If you yourself are in an art-making hiatus post-school or due to years of grueling work 9-5 or while raising children, and would like to return to your creative roots, read…

View original post 775 more words

