111 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60603

Price: Around $20

What I love about American art (and society in general) is that, for Americans, rules are made to be broken and innovation abounds. In Europe, we have more old paintings than we know what to do with, and unless you’re really interested in the royal family, it can get a little boring unless you have a guide to fill you in on all the historical context and symbolism. Here are some photos of my top pics:

DSCF3288

DSCF3279 DSCF3285  DSCF3296 DSCF3298 DSCF3300

I think if I had had to pay to enter this museum, I would have thought twice about it. I am really lucky in that I have been to a lot of culturally important museums and seen a lot of interesting exhibitions.  I believe that education is a right and not a privilege, and frankly the price of entry (just under $20) disturbed me. For people who don’t get the opportunity to travel, museums are a door into another world, allowing them to time travel through history as well as geographically travel. Something that is great about Spain is that ALL museums had one day where they were free entry, and they were free for people who had proof of unemployment.

